German Grand Prix at Nürburgring F1 Betting

F1 racing fans have long expected the 2015 German Grand Prix will be held at the Nürburgring circuit. If so the race will be held here on Sunday 19 July 2015 with practice and qualifying over the two previous days. There is however now some uncertainty on whether or not this will be the circuit used for the 2015 race.

To clarify that, in 2007 and prior F1 seasons, Nürburgring was host to the European Grand Prix. It was then decided that starting in 2008, only one race per year will be held in Germany. Since then the German Grand Prix has been split between Nürburgring and Hockenheimring, with the circuits trading off each year. The German Grand Prix was held at Nürburgring in 2009, 2011, 2013, and should be again in 2015. However there are now rumours that the Nürburgring circuit had their contract expire. Whether this will be renegotiated, and if not, which circuit will host the 2015 German Grand Prix, remains unclear.

Regardless of when the next F1 race is held here, below is information that will be helpful to know when deciding on wagering selections for that race.

Nürburgring Grand Prix-Strecke Information

Acceleration is critical here, and the car that comes out of turns the hardest will generally win. During qualifying, watch the acceleration speeds coming out of turns 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 14 and 15. Those that get up to speed the fastest have the best chance of winning the German Grand Prix when it’s held at Nürburgring.

Location: Nürburg, Germany
Circuit: Nürburgring Grand Prix-Strecke
Circuit Length: 5.148 km
Total Race Distance: 308.863 km
Turns: 15
Hard Turns: 9 (1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 15)
Hard Turns/Km: 1.748
Fastest Lap Time: 1:29.468 (Schumacher, 2004)
Fastest Seconds/Km: 17.38

Betting on Race Winners at the German Grand Prix

In the last eleven years at Nürburgring, eight of the races have been won by P1 or P2. P3, P4, and P6 all have one win here as well. For consistent wins, we should be looking primarily at P1 and P2, but if you really like someone a bit lower, it might be worth the risk.

A driver to look out for as race winner is Fernando Alonso. In 2013, which was the last F1 race at Nürburgring, he was racing for the Ferrari F1 team that had been struggling with their cars. He started eight on the grid, and managed to finish 4th place. Prior to that he had an even better record. In the six races at this circuit prior he had two wins and three 2nd place finishes. He is now racing with McLaren-Honda. If their cars are competitive in the races leading up to this one, and his odds are favourable, he is a driver I will be looking to back when betting race winner.

Top 3 Bets

At Nürburgring, it’s not uncommon to see drivers come from P4 – P6 and finish on the podium. Instead of picking someone in the top three starting positions, I prefer to take one driver who’s starting in P4 – P6 if I can find the right guy. If Fernando Alonso or Daniel Ricciardo are starting in any of these spots, they are both likely good bets.

While Felipe Massa has had some success here, I’m not crazy about how he’s performed since 2009. I like him for a Top 6 bet when he starts in the top six, but not for a Top 3 bet.

Top 6 Bets

If you can get Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso or Jenson Button anywhere down to P12 with appropriate odds, they’re all good bets at Nürburgring. For Massa, I prefer to see him in P8 or better. However, it’s very common to see guys come from as low as P12 who make it into the top six, so we need to look around a bit.

Look for drivers that normally finish races in higher positions than they qualified in here. I don’t mind going down to P12 if I have confidence in the constructor to get the car dialed in before the race starts. This happens in F1, and our job is to find these opportunities. This is a good race to look for them. They are often worth the extra risk at this circuit.

Recent German Grand Prix Results (Nürburgring):

Results1st (Grid)Time2nd (Grid)3rd (Grid)
2013Sebastian Vettel (2)1:41.14.711Kimi Räikkönen (4)Romain Grosjean (5)
2011Lewis Hamilton (2)1:37:30.344Fernando Alonso (4)Mark Webber (1)